Beacon Hill School, Rising Sun Cottages, Wallsend, NE28 9JW

School Day: 09:00am - 3:15pm
Morning Registration Time: 09:00 - 09:30

Tel: 0191 6433000


Site Map

Beacon Hill School

Our Mission: To enable students to maximise their potential and live happy and fulfilling lives

Governing Body

 An Introduction

Structure and remit of the Governing body School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They come from all sections of the community and all walks of life. Some governors are elected by parents and staff, some are appointed by the Governing body, the Local Authority or the North Tyneside Learning Trust. The Governing body has 3 core strategic functions: •  Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction •  Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff. •  Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent Our Chair of Governors is Barbara Mills and our Vice Chair is Deborah Ismay.

Governing body membership

Name Category of Governor
Paula Timlin Co-opted
Deborah Ismay Co-opted
Barbara Mills Co-opted
Martin Pitt-Morley Co-opted
Michelle Hetherington Co-opted
Elaine Appleby Co-opted
Fiona Burton Co-opted
Chris Trousdale Co-opted
Rebecca Watson Foundation
Justina Terretta Head Teacher
Nicola McGowan Local Authority
Sarah Raine Staff
Siobhan Gibson Parent
***We currently have 1 Parent Governor, 2 Co-opted Governor and 1 Foundation Governor vacancies*** Governors perform their role by being linked to particular areas of our work. Committees The Governing body has a range of committees to help it carries out its functions, they are as follows:
Evaluation Committee Finance and Staffing Committee
Fiona Burton (Chair) Elaine Appleby (Chair)
Michelle Hetherington Paula Timlin
Siobhan Gibson Deborah Ismay
Justina Terretta Martin Pitt-Morley
Nicola McGowan
Justina Terretta
Performance Management Committee Safeguarding and Health Committee
Deborah Ismay Barbara Mills (Chair)
Elaine Appleby Sarah Raine
Nicola McGowan Justina Terretta
Chris Trousdale
Governor Relevant business/pecuniary interests Governor/Trustee of other schools/ academies Relationships with school staff
Deborah Ismay Trustee of charity, Excel North from 30/11/15    
Justina Terretta Associate member of charity, Excel North from 26/01/16    
Fiona Marie Burton Trustee of Friends of Beacon Hill charity  
*Susan Michelle O’Brien None declared   Member of staff
Sarah Raine None declared   Member of staff
Paula Timlin None declared   Member of staff
Michelle Hetherington None declared   Member of staff
*Joanne Foster None declared   Member of staff Niece is also a member of staff
Barbara Anne Mills None declared
Elaine Appleby None declared
Christopher Peter Trousdale/span> None declared
Nicola Jane McGowan None declared
Martin Pitt-Morley None declared
Siobhan Gibson None declared
*S O’Brien resigned on 15/09/22 *J Foster resigned on 15/09/22 These are the terms of reference for each area of responsibility. Finance and Staffing Safeguarding and Health Evaluation

Governor related documents

Governance Handbook Governor Roles

Previous Years Governor Info

Scroll to top