School Governors

An Introduction
Structure and remit of the Governing body

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They come from all sections of the community and all walks of life. Some governors are elected by parents and staff, some are appointed by the Governing body, the Local Authority or the North Tyneside Learning Trust. The Governing body has 3 core strategic functions:

• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
• Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
• Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


Name Category of Governor
Richard Cullen Co-opted
Deborah Ismay Co-opted
Philip Jewitt Co-opted
Cyril Maddison Co-opted
Barbara Mills Co-opted
Susan O’Brien Co-opted
Graeme Turnbull Co-opted
Virginia Wilkinson Foundation
Dorian Latham Foundation
Justina Terretta Headteacher
Majella Tallack Local Authority
Fiona Burton Parent
Alison Patmore Parent
Laura Acott Staff
Erica Whiteley Associate member
***We currently have 2 Parent Governor vacancies and 2 Co-opted Governor vacancies***

Governors perform their role by being linked to particular areas of our work. The current links can be found Here


The Governing body has a range of committees to help it carries out its functions as follows:


Safeguarding and Health Committee

Cyril Maddison (Chair)
Graeme Turnbull
Majella Tallack
Mark Elsdon
Judith Moore – Observer
Anabel Drought – Observer

Finance and Staffing Committee

Dorian Latham (Chair)
Barbara Mills
Deborah Ismay
Alison Patmore
Richard Cullen
Paul Steadman – Observer

Evaluation Committee

Laura Acott
Fiona Burton
Erica Whiteley
Sue O’Brien
Virginia Wilkinson
Phil Jewitt
Aideen Hill – Observer

Performance Management Committee

Cyril Maddison
Richard Cullen
Deborah Ismay


Governors’ Register of Interests for 2017/18

Governor Relevant business/pecuniary interests Governor/Trustee of other schools/ academies Relationships with school staff
Deborah Ismay Trustee of charity, Excel North from 30/11/15    
Justina Terretta Associate member of charity, Excel North from 26/01/16    
Cyril Hugh Maddison None declared    
Laura Acott None declared    
Susan Michelle O’Brien None declared    
Graeme Turnbull None declared    
Fiona Marie Burton None declared    
Dorian Miles Latham None declared    
Alison Elizabeth Patmore None declared    
Barbara Anne Mills None declared    
Richard Cullen None declared    
Virginia Wilkinson None declared    
Majella Tallack None declared    
Philip Richard Jewitt None declared    

Associate membership

Name Relevant business interest Relationships with school staff Other educational establishments governed Date commenced Date ceased
Erica Derryn Whiteley None declared

Governor related documents

Key Performance Indicators

Meeting Minutes


Meeting Schedule

These are the terms of reference for each area of responsibility.

Finance and Staffing
Safeguarding and Health

Previous Years Governor Info

Last Years’ Governance